2003-05-06 10:56 a.m.
one more question NOT on the nation's lips

one great question that we, the great bastion of democracy, haven't been asking � in fact, have been ignoring:

What do the Iraqi people want, in terms of recovery and rebuilding?

It seems that we're all in such a rush to apply ethnocentric views on gender politics, capitalism, and government that we've never bothered to actually convene any council of the Iraqi people (if not leadership, then a solid representative sampling) to hear what they'd LIKE. This isn't Japan, for fuck's sake...we didn't take them down for attacking us, we took 'em down for political and economic ammo. It'd certainly make us look foolish to let the Shiites take over and turn Iraq into another theocracy (like, I don't know, the Taliban?), but then, what if that's the consensus of the country? Then we're going to truly reinforce the idea that we're in a jihad, because we're telling them they can't have a religion-oriented government...as much as Bush has transformed ours into one.


I miss Mark and Sibyl and Ivy. I want to get back to my play soon. Not that I mind the whole spiritual crew on the comic, but after bumping into S at the grocery store (christ, did I jump) and talking to Rachel, the characters I based them on are pinching my butt to get me to come back. Fine by me.



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion