2002-04-18 12:37 p.m.
flying honey

It's always funny the similarities between classical music (I'm listening to Beethoven's "Ave Maria") and cantorial music, though the latter's more boisterous and more mournful, lots of belting, but similar vocal moves to opera. Speaking in Hebrew changes the sounds as well...more gutteral sounds makes the whole thing seem more primitive; in classical music, the consonants don't stand out as loudly, but the vowels drip and slide out of the mouth like liquid, flying honey.

Most people I know can't deal with classical music more than once or twice a year. I always forget how much it stirs me, when my patience is there.


Donnie Darko was an incredible film. People pick it apart into its components, play up the 80s references thrown in, moments mirroring TV shows, how the science isn't so complex...when they forget the joy in the combined whole, the suspension of disbelief, the wonder of a well-crafted story and characters that engage. The entire film you watch Jake Gyllenhaal with his off countenance, that very strange, knowing smirk, very specific physical choices in what could have been a very generic role. Very strong.


Back to S...

It's very funny to be going through all of this as I read Shaw's "Back to Methuselah" for the first time. Every step of the play is about folly of mankind, always living in its childhood because the species simply doesn't live long enough to MATURE. He maintains that a person needs at least 300 years to reach maturity and then have an effect on the world.

I feel very very young at this point. I don't know that S is any wiser or any more mature...I've always felt that she's more mature than I am because she can handle her lifestyle, whereas it makes me panic. Something I assume a lot, though, is that there's something wrong with me if I can't handle or don't enjoy that lifestyle, that I'm flawed if I don't enjoy being free-floating as well as being monogamous. (Honestly, I can't say I love it or not. This situation's so specific that I doubt it'll have any bearing on my opinion of open relationships down the line.)



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion