2003-03-19 11:26 a.m.
no point to this entry, really...well, except for Wes

whack fuckin' day.

I could go on at length about how I still haven't been hired yet or how Marie (the post-chemo cow who's barely my supervisor) chewed me out this morning for wearing brown and tan Campers (barely sneakers) to work...

But instead, today's for Wil Wheaton, Wesley Crusher from Star Trek: The Next Generation.

I wonder if the drugs are to blame, the various altered states and occasional baths in SoCo that I've had with L lately, but it seems like every time that I slow my brain down dramatically through substance abuse, it just kicks faster into gear when I'm sitting at my desk at work.

I look out of an attorney's window and see all of the Financial District buildings in stark sunshine, reminding me instantly of walking to my job interview on 9/11, walking through the city streets, marvelling at how dirty the white buildings looked, and how pretty it all still looked, how wild and free I've felt walking city streets in the middle of a weekday, a feeling I've seldom felt since college, unless unemployed or playing hooky.

I was grumbling and roiling and furious, ready to slap the woman with the selfsame shoe that she'd told me was against the dress code...

...and then I got hyperlinked over to Wil Wheaton's blog.

I met Wil two years ago at San Diego. Joseph Limbaugh, my improv teacher from Atlanta, had been doing improv with Wil out in L.A., so when I saw him, I figured saying hi was less out-of-order than if I'd been your run-of-the-mill fanboy. (I should've told him about the "To D � You're the Best! Love, Wes" postcard D had tacked up on his wall in high school, just to see D blush and Wil get uncomfortable.)

Anyway, he remembered Joseph, and we ended up shooting con shit for a few minutes until D and I's stomachs could take no more deprivation.

He sounded like I would have expected him to: a little geeky, funny, bizarrely sincere...Star Trek's answer to Tobey Maguire. Into improv, into Linux, into sci-fi and comics. All around, a good guy. My favorite celebrity sighting so far, even next to Babylon 5's Jason Carter, who was just insane when I interviewed him.

And I slipstreamed my way to his blog this morning and found the following:

Commence to Burninate

... and the Trogdor comes in the nnniiiigggghhhtttt!!!!

Go Trogdor. Go Wil. Thanks for making me laugh on a shite day.


And to Elizabeth too... she's getting approached by everyone from literary agents to NPR's "All Things Considered" for her zine, PLATFORM (about busking in the subways of NYC)...friggin' wOOt, girl!



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion