2002-09-17 1:21 p.m.
picture pages, picture pages, lots of fun with picture pages

So, I haven't been able to access Diaryland from home (the 'submit' always hangs), which has been driving me nuts, given that that's usually when I have free time to write.

Here's where I write my glowing review of Bway.net's service.

These people are so on their game. The techie (who happens to be named Jimmy Durante, don't laugh) sussed out the problem in five seconds, hooked me up with a static IP address gratis, and all should be well again.

Every time someone asks me, "jesus, why do you pay so much for DSL?"...that's why. It's the service, baby.


I unloaded my camera last night for the first time in weeks, and realized I had a ton of backlog on there, so let's take a little photo safari...


After hearing me wax poetic about the gorgeous view from the Brooklyn Ferry, here's a taste. That's downtown Brooklyn, off of Brooklyn Heights, I believe.

I started reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn a while ago, when S lent it to me. In retrospect, I should've finished it. I'm reading Low Life and The Brooklyn Reader now, and I'm dying to do a little urban spelunking.


This is a house I noticed while walking along the north side of Greenwood Cemetary (which runs between Park Slope and Sunset Park, my old and new neighborhoods). The house is kooky, full of the haunted-house vibe to begin with...but then I looked up.


What I mistook for trellises were actually grape vines, both red and white, snaking all along the front of the house, turning a corner and providing a canopy to the little alleyway along the side.

Nothing calms me down in troubled times better than a long walk through an unfamiliar neighborhood, headphones blasting something chill (in this case, Mos Def and the B-52s).

Speaking of unfamiliar neighborhoods, I'm moving in eleven days, this time from the boriqua/Chinese mix of Sunset Park to the Russian orthodox Jewish vibes of Midwood. Pictures to follow. I keep expecting to run into relatives I haven't met yet.



Okay, so what the hell is up with these?? What sick marketing freak thought this was a good idea? Kids don't have enough blue things to stick in their mouths?

(Oh, wait, that's adults at sex parties, but you get the point.)



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion