2002-01-07 12:41 a.m.
I'm an idiot

I've been away a bit.

Not from New York, or my computer, but from my desire to write, especially in my journal. Chalk it up to not wanting to fight with D. for studio time, being tired after working my idiot job, or having far too much of a good time with S. (Speaking of which, not leaving bed for most of the weekend leaves you with big smiles on your face and weak knees.)

Life's been stifling...the fretting about money, the same idiotic temping...

On the other hand, I've just about finished my collection of old-school sci-fi radio plays, and although the sounds are dated, the music laughably calculated for emotion swaying, I'm still amazed at how many ideas in the genre keep getting reused and still sound fresh. One of the plays I listened to, "The Category Inventor," had me wishing I could write myself a fresh new job title. Ah, well.


So I've been living in Brooklyn for a year and a half, and for much of that time I've been sad, missing (among many other things about Atlanta) my beloved Dad's Garage Theater, a theater/improv company I was involved with in Atlanta.

Of course, I didn't realize that there was a similarly-minded venue/group o' freaks just up the street at the Brooklyn Lyceum, a former public bathhouse.

Going to check into these kids this week...more later.

(turns out they not only have an internet cafe, but the muthas do goddamn radio plays... how damn long have I been sleeping on this??



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion