2002-07-30 10:02 a.m.
seaspray in my hair

If life is about transience � and jesus, is NYC ever about that � shouldn't one enjoy everything the city's got to offer, or at least what you can manage?

I didn't know this until I moved in with Jen & Becca, but there's a ferry that runs from the Brooklyn Army Terminal in Sunset Park to one of the Wall Street piers.

I finally rode it home yesterday for the first time. Of course I'm romanticizing it � for one thing, it's convenient to no one except residents of Sunset Park or Bay Ridge (maybe Park Slope if you ride the train up). On the other hand, it's free, and the person who passes up a free boat ride, one that takes the same amount of time as the same subway ride, is really missing out.

I've taken the occasional leisurely cruise around Biscayne Bay in Miami on houseboats � beautiful skies (most of the time), the art deco architecture, clear waters...but imagine shooting past Governor's Island, the Statue of Liberty, the old Red Hook industrial zones (crumbling and creepy; D would've loved breaking in and doing his urban exploration thing), and really, just seeing Brooklyn from that perspective.

Being on the water's got my blood charged for Miami. And driving down A1A, windows open, ocean breeze in my face.

I want to see the sun rise on the beach one of the mornings I'm there.

I'll probably cry. I miss her, the beach.



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion