2003-02-13 11:48 a.m.
To type or not to type?

Momentary rant because, well, fuck, I feel like it:

I've set my endgame in motion here at [unnamed large corporate law firm]. The law firm's been biding its time in hiring me for whatever reason, and in the meantime, I just had my second interview for [unnamed content provider] for an editorial job, something much more interesting, less paying, and involves fairly regular travel (once a month, possible twice).

Now, people here look at me funny when I tell them I'm bored and restless at this job. Most of them spend their day playing games online, looking for funny Web sites (like the famous "I KISS YOU" of a year or two ago, or "All Your Base Are Belong To Us") to email each other about, reading the news, or applying to law school.

I'm so jumpy I want to scream, and it's got nothing to do with the coffee. Part of the equation is the frustration of going another month without health insurance. (Sure, I could tack on another $400/month onto my monthly bills, but I could also grow a new ass, and they'd both do me about as much good.) Part of it is the prospect of spending another few years as a friggin' secretary. Now, while Maggie Gyllenhaal was the sexiest, most self-destructive thing on two wheels in the movie, I'm a whole different matter, as I have no S&M love slave to welcome me to work every day, just three attorneys, including the German Ninja. I might respect the people doing it, but I have no desire to do this for any length of time. The total lack of anything mentally demanding...wugh.

The other job, on the other hand, would keep me editing all day, doing customer support and production work, and potentially sourcing new clientele, something I'd feel great about. It's a position with a good amount of room for growth � again, something I've never had.

On the other hand, the law firm would pay probably $15K better and deliver benefits a lot faster, and I'd have more flexibility with when I take vacation, etc.

Oh, the debate.

Soul...money. Soul...money.

Dammit.



1 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion