2003-05-02 11:35 a.m.
buh deet deet deet (watch the teletype)

news, such as it is:

  • (The lead didn't work out, but I made a new friend instead. Better deal, I think. We're meeting up for drinks in San Diego — payback for some help she gave me getting a short story ready for pitching — suspect this is the start of something ridiculous and fun.)

  • My diary got dissed by a 15-year-old, as she didn't understand what the famous picture (that, honestly, every high-schooler's seen) of an apple exploding was, that she couldn't find a guestbook (which is in the sidebar), that the bonus links were boring (Homestar Runner is boring? are you HIGH?)...*sigh* Guess I shouldn't send out any spec scripts to Joss Whedon anytime soon, as I obviously don't understand teenagers. :P


As of the end of next week, I'll have ten pages of finished art for the comic (except for the lettering, which D's handling). 12 more to go. Another very large chunk of money to go. I'm nervous, and I don't think I have any right to be...the buzz, at least around people I know, is fabulous; everyone's been all smiling and supportive.

In classic BG form, I'm already thinking about the next steps: the promotion (press release, cold-calling, interviews, favors to call in), the calling of old friends who've been wondering what I've been doing, the inevitable next project (which, at this point, is finishing "Cross-Stitch" (the play I started last summer), writing the sequel to the comic, starting the novel that's been percolating in the back of my brain all this time).

I have no delusions about selling this as a TV series or becoming a superstar overnight...please. But I do have a good feeling about this book, just in the writing, what it's making people feel.



1 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion