2002-05-29 4:50 p.m.
e for lunch?

Unbeknownst to my coworkers, I've got Audiogalaxy access, and you know what that means...

flashback time.

It's hilarious...for all of the Sleater-Kinney and Le Tigre and other girl-positive rock I hear out there, I sift through my own musical memory and remember that I've been listening to stuff like that since high school...Magnapop (and the earlier version, Oh-OK), Juliana Hatfield, The Pretenders, Patti Smith, the stray track by Veruca Salt, Elastica, etc. Okay, so they're not singing about the same things...but they rock, alright?

Other gems (well, not really) that I've unearthed this week:

  • Young and Sexy (from Vancouver, I think)...amazingly complex and airy pop. Definitely takes conscious listening.

  • Jill Scott...a coworker convinced me to download Experience for her, so I gave it a whirl. Very smooth, very jazzy, very chill.

  • okay, okay..."Flagpole Sitta" by Harvey Danger. yes, I can't believe it either.

  • the "Donnie Darko" soundtrack...it's full of 80s gems. Joy Division, Tears for Fears...mmm.

Everything feels good today. I feel like I'm glowing or humming. (Did someone slip some E into my lunch?)



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion