2002-03-04 6:04 p.m.
the trance remains the same

Sometimes I don't really know why I keep this diary.

Last April (when I started this) D. and I hadn't really started working together yet on our San Diego comic pitches, and while I had ideas of my own burning, I wasn't really doing all that much. I felt that other than notching the wall, I wanted to find a way to count the days, reflect, and talk to someone who wouldn't get sick of hearing it.

I feel like this year (and I say year because in another month, this will mark one year of me on diaryland) has flown by feverishly and slightly unconsciously, like the delirious trances I used to go into in Atlanta at 1 in the morning, where strange words would pour out of me into my computer that somehow coalesced into a story.

Actually, if I had to pin a state on my life, delirious trance sounds about right: most of it's been instinctual, intuitive, nothing definite or mapped-out, but full of "things you have to do." I don't want to finish the map right now. I just want to feel free enough to follow where it's leading me without fear.


The whole reason I brought up delirious trances is that I spent the weekend in one, courtesy of the stomach flu.

Like method acting or revisiting a specific high too many times, it's not as much fun (or inspiring) as I remember.

It's karmic payback for calling in sick on Thursday to take drugs and play with S. and her out-of-town guests.

What was my excuse? Stomach flu.


I'm thinking about not writing this anymore.

Does anyone care?



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion