2003-04-13 8:48 a.m.
more than a little soul

I don't get, personally, why folks say that Pulp is a depressing band. Okay, "Different Class" is all about class warfare and sexual terrorism, but "This is Hardcore" and "We Love Life" are these roaring, fevered albums of desperation, sickness and joy. I used to listen to Blur to get fired up for writing; now I'm finding that I favor Jarvis and co. because they pull my balls up and my heart open, making me FEEL before I put fingers to keyboard and get to work. Also, "This is Hardcore" has the perfect regret energies for the comic.


After a week away from my script, I had a lovely little spurt of writing juice hit the page in a Rorschach splatter while waiting for L and her friend to meet me at Odessa. The aforementioned heartbreak (last entry, I think) has taken on a new turn and hurts even more, but for the right reasons (and tells a hell of a lot about the woman involved).

I'd be incredibly specific if I weren't so paranoid about giving away plot details before I can copyright the damn thing.

I had to get back to writing...an interview with JMS shamed me into it. The man writes 10 hours a day, every day, along the lines of Bradbury and numerous other people I respect. Granted, he doesn't have to contend with a day job, but he paid his dues while I was in grade school, so he deserves it.

Someday I will too. And the key is not to be a whiny little tosser about it, but to work my ass off and shine.



1 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion