2001-05-16 1:04 p.m.
progress made

I hope I'm not emailing too much. I don't know if one can, but I know I've been working a lot, working on my pitch a lot, and since I'm on a computer most of the day, I answer email pretty quickly after it comes in...habit.

so I'm lying here with Wedge (Dan's cat) asleep by my side, and feeling like I'm getting somewhere. Issue 1 (of 3) is sketched out, and I've got the arc of it pretty damn laid-out in my head. More than that, it's got action now, the structure of it's picking up, and I think it's got enough movement and visual feel to where it's not bogged down all of the exposition I've got to get through.

writing for comics is a strange art, by the way...you can't just tell a good story...you have to tell it visually. Dan's measure of good storytelliing is the manga model...if you can flip through the whole book, ignore the dialogue, and still figure out what happened, you did your job well. I don't know one way or the other, honestly, but I'll buy that for now if that'll get the book sold.

left turn:

I keep lying here, dreaming of having someone in my lap, kneading her shoulders...an unattainable goal? hopefully not.

it's late and I want some sleep. more in the morning.



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion