2001-05-13 11:18 p.m.
feeling good

nothing so major to report...other than feeling goooooood.

I'm going to Atlanta/Athens in three weeks, and I'm already lining up plans, kicking folks awake so they mark off time for me on their calendars, and juicing up my liver for the inevitable (and welcome at this point) gin'n'tonics. I haven't seen the kids at Dad's Garage in ages, so I'm hoping to catch, if not sit in on, some improv.

mostly, I'm looking forward to the downtime. Scribbling in my notebook over huevos rancheros at the Bluebird, hitting a party or two if there are some, catching up with friends and Flagpole folks that I haven't seen in what's fast becoming years...it should alllll be fun.

I'm also feeling good about my latest comic pitch. I'm giving it a little time to mush and meld and pull itself around in my head, but I want a full three issues that's consistent. The two characters have always been such opposites: one a funny altruistic superhero jock; the other an earnest, if psycho, champion of his people. Now the goal is to make them more pliable, let the goofiness find its way into faith, so that religion and philosophy about having ridiculously immense superpowers can be its own kind of humor...which sets the scene for a BIG fall. And unlike "Meet the Parents" (a fucking AWFUL film), the falls here have a point.

and no one reading will have a clue what the hell I'm talking about other than in a general sense, which is fine. ;) this is my sounding board, isn't it?

anyway, I'll blab about it when the ink's dry. needless to say, though, I'm feeling good about it...so good that I'm finally going to break the spine on this copy of The Nag Hammadi Library I've been meaning to read for years...get some Gnostic theosophy in my blood...should open some sensory/literary floodgates, no doubt.

most of all, I'm feeling good because I was intensely broke this weekend. Some folks say 'broke' to mean 'I've only got fifty bucks to get me through three days!'...no, no, kids... in my world, 'broke' means 'my punk-ass is down to pennies'... but the benefit of induced poverty is that you do free stuff to occupy yourself...going for walks in the sunshine, catching up on email, writing (hee hee ha ha), and generally enjoying this house, which lets the most incredible weather through it when all of the windows are open. I laid in bed today for an hour, just watching people go by, and feeling the rush of wind on my skin.

The Uncarved Block, the Zen of moments like these...these are parts of me I can't let go of, no matter how much society tells me to grow up.



0 comments so far
rewind fast-forward
�random�
prior golden country hits:
moving day - 2003-08-26
her empty eyes, searching - 2003-08-21
my zombie discoball world - 2003-08-08
SD shock - 2003-07-28
San Diego sashay - 2003-07-19







here
there
whisper
shout: 1 or 2
profile
design (remixed)
host
writin'


STYX TAXI is out!




faves w/raves:
tabi
ebess
quendra
dat mimi g.
eeelissa
onea
shesajar


columns @
intrepidmedia:

print feels so old, Web feels so ne-ew-ew (online comics)

no follower of genetically-modified fashion